Glossary
Conversion rate
Conversion rate
Conversion rate is a marketing metric that calculates the number of users who performed a designated action after receiving the email. While this is typically a monetary calculation, a conversion may be any event offered in an email’s CTA such as registering for an event or signing up for a waiting list.
The conversion rate formula is the number of recipients who followed a call-to-action (CTA) divided by the number of emails delivered expressed in percentage:
Number of recipients who followed the CTA / Number of emails delivered * 100 = Conversion rate
For instance, if a brand sent 1,000 emails and 20 recipients took action, the conversion rate would be 2%.
20 / 1,000 * 100 = 2%
Conversion rate is important for gauging an email program’s health. Other metrics that may affect conversion rate include open rate and click-through rate.