Common technical terms in email
Stay current and expand your email knowledge with our list of common technical terms.
Conversion rate is a marketing metric that assesses the number of users who made a purchase after opening an email versus the total number of emails sent out. The conversion rate formula is the number of recipients who followed a call-to-action (CTA) divided by the number of emails delivered expressed in percentage:
Number of recipients who followed the CTA / Number of emails delivered * 100 = Conversion rate
For instance, if a brand sent 1,000 emails and 20 recipients took action, the conversion rate would be 2%.
20 / 1,000 * 100 = 2%
Conversion rate is important for gauging an email program’s health. Other metrics that may affect conversion rate include open rate and click-through rate.
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